FAQ Grouped FAQs
Last updated on: Nov 21, 2011
- I'm trying to add a child that was born in 1989. The year selection only goes back 20 years. How do I enter her/his birthday?
- I'm trying to enter a memory for my child when she was much younger, but the age on the memory is her current age. How do I correct the age?
- How do I have a memory posted simultaneously to Facebook?
- Can I save a memory in my Memory Archive without it being visible to other people?
- How do I edit a post?
- What are Memory Notifcations?
I'm trying to add a child that was born in 1989. The year selection only goes back 20 years. How do I enter her/his birthday?
To get to that year select the earliest year on the form's select year field (1991). Then select the year field again. It will now display the prior 40 years. If you select the earliest year again (now 1971). Then it will display the prior 60 years.
I'm trying to enter a memory for my child when she was much younger, but the age on the memory is her current age. How do I correct the age?
After you have saved/posted the memory. Select the pencil icon to the right of the memory. This will bring up the edit function. At the bottom of the form you will see the age input. Just change it and click the update button.
How do I have a memory posted simultaneously to Facebook?
If you want your memory to simultaneously post to Facebook, you need to log into the site using the "Connect with Facebook" feature. You can either do this when you register with the site for the first time, or at a later time when you come back. If you have already registered with the site, you may need to LOG OUT first. When you log back into the site again, you will see the "Connect with Facebook" button. Click that button and follow the instructions. When that's done you are all set! When you type in a memory post, you will now see a check-box that says "Post to my Facebook Wall". When you check that, your memory post will also appear in your Facebook News Feed!
Can I save a memory in my Memory Archive without it being visible to other people?
Yes. We have two privacy settings available for every post. After you type in your memory and before you hit "Share", you will see a privacy drop-down menu which is automatically set to "Public". PUBLIC means that it will be visible in the "Latest Posts" section to the site, available for anyone to see. If you change the drop-down setting to PRIVATE, your memory post will be saved in your Archive and visible to you only. It will not be visible to other people. You may notice that the post appears in the "Latest Posts" section, however IT IS ONLY VISIBLE TO YOU. Notice the lock icon next to your Private post, indicating the post as Private and reminding you that you are the only one who sees it. Remember you are able to edit your post at any time. So if you want to go back and change the Privacy settings later, you are able to do this.
How do I edit a post?
You are able to edit your memory post at any time after you have shared it. Next to your memory (seen in the Latest Post feed or in your personal Memory Archive) you will see a pencil icon. Clicking on this icon will take you to a page where you can edit your memory post. You are able to edit which child said this memory, whether you want the memory Public or Private, and how old the child was when the memory occurred. You may also attach a photo or video to the memory. The click the "update" button.
What are Memory Notifcations?
You may institute Memory Notifications in your Profile. Memory Notifications are emails that automatically go out to the people of your choosing. For example, you may want to send an email to Grandma with the memories you post, automatically, every time you post something. In order to start Memory Notifications, you must provide us with the email address(es) for the people to which you would like these automatic emails to be sent. Before we start doing this, we send them an invitation email asking them to confirm that they are OK to receive these emails. People have the option to say YES or NO to whether or not they would like to receive Memory Notifications from you. In your Follower List, you are able to see who is receiving these notifications already.